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SAFETY AND HEALTH PROTECTION ON THE JOB 
Stat e ofCal ifor nia 
Department of Industrial Relations 

California law provides workplace safety and health protections for workers through regulations enforced by the Division of Occupational Safety and Health (Cal/OSHA). This 
poster explains some basic requirements and procedures to comply with the state’s workplace safety and health standards and orders. The law requires that this poster be 
displayed. Failure to do so could result in a substantial penalty. Cal/OSHA standards can be found at www.dir.ca.gov/samples/search/query.htm. 

WHAT AN EMPLOYER MUST DO: 
All employers must provide work and workplaces that are safe and healthful. In 
other words, as an employer, you must follow state laws governing job safety and 
health. Failure to do so can result in a threat to the life or health of workers, and 
substantial monetary penalties. 
You must display this poster in a conspicuous place where notices to employees are 
customarily posted so everyone on the job can be aware of basic rights and 
responsibilities. 
You must have a written and effective Injury and Illness Prevention Program (IIPP) meeting the 
requirements of California Code of Regulations, title 8, section 3203 (www.dir.ca.gov/ 
title8/3203.html) and provide access to employees and their designated representatives. 
You must be aware of hazards your employees face on the job and keep records 
showing that each employee has been trained in the hazards unique to each job 
assignment. 
You must correct any hazardous condition that you know may result in injury to 
employees. Failure to do so could result in criminal charges, monetary penalties, and 
even incarceration. 
You must notify a local Cal/OSHA district office of any serious injury or illness, or death, 
occurring on the job. Be sure to do this immediately after calling for emergency help to 
assist the injured employee. Failure to report a serious injury or illness, or death, within 
8 hours can result in a minimum civil penalty of $5,000. 

WHAT AN EMPLOYER MUST NEVER DO: 
Never permit an employee to do work that violates Cal/OSHA workplace safety and 
health regulations. 
Never permit an employee to be exposed to harmful substances without providing 
adequate protection. 
Never allow an untrained employee to perform hazardous work. 

EMPLOYEES HAVE CERTAIN WORKPLACE SAFETY & HEALTH RIGHTS: 
As an employee, you (or someone acting for you) have the right to file a confidential 
complaint and request an inspection of your workplace if you believe conditions there 
are unsafe or unhealthful. This is done by contacting the local Cal/OSHA district office 
(see below). Your name is not revealed by Cal/OSHA, unless you request otherwise. 

You also have the right to bring unsafe or unhealthful conditions to the attention of the 
Cal/OSHA investigator inspecting your workplace. 

You and your designated representative have the right to access the employer's IIPP. 
Any employee has the right to refuse to perform work that would violate an occupational 
safety or health standard or order where such violation would create a real and 
apparent hazard to the employee or other employees. 

You may not be fired or punished in any way for filing a complaint about unsafe or 
unhealthful working conditions, or for otherwise exercising your rights to a safe and 
healthful workplace. If you feel that you have been fired or punished for exercising your 
rights, you may file a complaint about this type of discrimination by contacting the 
nearest office of the California Department of Industrial Relations, Division of Labor 
Standards Enforcement (Labor Commissioner’s Office) or the San Francisco office of 
the U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Administration. 
(Employees of state or local government agencies may only file these complaints with 
the California Labor Commissioner’s Office.) Consult your local telephone directory for 
the office nearest you. 

EMPLOYEES ALSO HAVE RESPONSIBILITIES: 
To keep the workplace and your coworkers safe, you should tell your employer about any 
hazard that could result in an injury or illness to an employee. While working, you must 
always obey state workplace safety and health laws. 

HELP IS AVAILABLE: 

SPECIAL RULES APPLY FOR WORK AROUND HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCES: 
Employers who use any substance that is listed as a hazardous substance in 
California Code of Regulations, title 8, section 339 (www.dir.ca.gov/title8/339.html), or 
is covered by the Hazard Communication standard (www.dir.ca.gov/title8/5194.html) 
must provide employees information on the hazardous chemicals in their work areas, 
access to safety data sheets, and training on how to use hazardous chemicals safely. 
Employers shall make available on a timely and reasonable basis a safety data sheet 
on each hazardous substance in the workplace upon request of an employee, an 
employee’s collective bargaining representative, or an employee’s physician. 
Employees have the right to see and copy their medical records and records of 
exposure to potentially toxic materials or harmful physical agents. 
Employers must allow access by employees or their representatives to accurate 
records of employee exposures to potentially toxic materials or harmful physical 
agents, and notify employees of any exposures in concentration or levels exceeding 
the exposure limits allowed by Cal/OSHA standards. 
Any employee or their representative has the right to observe monitoring or 
measuring of employee exposure to hazards conducted to comply with Cal/OSHA 
regulations. 

WHEN CAL/OSHA COMES TO THE WORKPLACE: 
A trained Cal/OSHA safety engineer or industrial hygienist may visit the workplace to 
make sure your company is obeying workplace safety and health laws. 
Inspections are also conducted when an employee files a valid complaint with 
Cal/OSHA. 
Cal/OSHA also goes on-site to the workplace to investigate a serious injury or illness, 
or fatality. 
When an inspection begins, the Cal/OSHA investigator will show official identification. 
The employer, or someone the employer chooses, will be given an opportunity to 
accompany the investigator during the inspection. An authorized representative of the 
employees will be given the same opportunity. Where there is no authorized 
employee representative, the investigator will talk to a reasonable number of 
employees about safety and health conditions at the workplace. 

VIOLATIONS, CITATIONS, AND PENALTIES: 
If the investigation shows that the employer has violated a safety and health standard 
or order, Cal/OSHA may issue a citation. Each citation carries a monetary penalty and 
specifies a date by which the violation must be abated. A notice, which carries no 
monetary penalty, may be issued in lieu of a citation for certain non-serious violations. 
Penalty amounts depend in part on the classification of the violation as regulatory, 
general, serious, repeat, or willful; and whether the employer failed to abate a 
previous violation involving the same hazardous condition. Base penalty amounts, 
penalty adjustment factors, and minimum and maximum penalty amounts are set forth 
in California Code of Regulations, title 8, section 336 (www.dir.ca.gov/title8/336.html). 
In addition, a willful violation that causes death or permanent impairment of the body 
of any employee can result, upon conviction, in a fine of up to $250,000 or 
imprisonment up to three years, or both, and if the employer is a corporation or limited 
liability company, the fine may be up to $1.5 million. 
The law provides that employers may appeal citations within 15 working days of 
receipt to the Occupational Safety and Health Appeals Board. 
An employer who receives a citation, Order to Take Special Action, or Special Order 
must post it or a copy, including the enclosed multi-language employee notification, 
prominently at or near the place of the violation or unsafe condition for three working 
days, or until the unsafe condition is corrected, whichever is longer, to warn 
employees of danger that may exist there. Any employee may protest the time 
allowed for correction of the violation to the Division of Occupational Safety and 
Health or the Occupational Safety and Health Appeals Board. 

To learn more about workplace safety rules, you may contact Cal/OSHA Consultation Services for free information, required forms, and publications. You can also contact a local 
district office of Cal/OSHA. If you prefer, you may retain a competent private consultant, or ask your workers’ compensation insurance carrier for guidance in obtaining information. 

Call the FREE Worker Information Helpline – (833) 579-0927 

DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH (CAL/OSHA) 
HEADQUARTERS: 1515 Clay Street, Ste. 1901, Oakland, CA 94612 – Telephone (510) 286-7000 

District Offices Cal/OSHA Consultation Services 
American Canyon 3419 Broadway St., Ste. H8, American Canyon 94503 (707) 649-3700
Bakersfield (661) 588-6400 Field / Area Offices 
Foster City (650) 573-3812 •Fresno / Central Valley 2550 Mariposa Mall, Rm. 2005 (559) 445-6800
Fremont (510) 794-2521 Fresno 93721 
Fresno (559) 445-5302 •La Palma / Los Angeles / 1 Centerpointe Dr., Ste. 150 (714) 562-5525
Long Beach (424) 450-2630 Orange County 
Los Angeles (213) 576-7451 •Oakland/ Bay Area (510) 622-2891
Modesto (209) 545-7310
Monrovia (626) 239-0369 •Sacramento / (916) 263-0704Oakland (510) 622-2916 Northern CA
Redding (530) 224-4743

•San Bernardino (909) 383-4567Sacramento 

7718 Meany Ave., Bakersfield 93308 
1065 East Hillsdale Bl., Ste. 110, Foster City 94404 
39141 Civic Center Dr., Ste. 310, Fremont 94538 
2550 Mariposa St., Rm. 4000, Fresno 93721 
1500 Hughes Way, Suite C-201, Long Beach 90810 
320 West Fourth St., Rm. 820, Los Angeles 90013 
4206 Technology Dr., Ste. 3, Modesto 95356 
800 Royal Oaks Dr., Ste. 105, Monrovia 91016 
1515 Clay St., Ste. 1303, Box 41, Oakland 94612 
381 Hemsted Dr., Redding 96002 
1750 Howe Ave., Ste. 430, Sacramento 95825 (916) 263-2800

San Bernardino 464 West Fourth St., Ste. 332, San Bernardino 92401 (909) 383-4321
San Diego •San Diego / (619) 767-2060
San Francisco Imperial County
Santa Ana 
Van Nuys 

7575 Metropolitan Dr., Ste. 207, San Diego 92108 (619) 767-2280 
455 Golden Gate Ave., Rm. 9516, San Francisco 94102 (415) 557-0100 
2 MacArthur Place, Ste. 720, Santa Ana 92707 (714) 558-4451 
6150 Van Nuys Blvd., Ste. 405, Van Nuys 91401 (818) 901-5403 •San Fernando Valley (818) 901-5754

La Palma 90623 
1515 Clay St., Ste 1103 
Oakland 94612 
1750 Howe Ave., Ste. 490 
Sacramento 95825 
464 West Fourth St., Ste. 339 
San Bernardino 92401 

7575 Metropolitan Dr., Ste. 204 
San Diego 92108 

6150 Van Nuys Blvd., Ste. 307 
Van Nuys 91401 Regional Offices 

San Francisco 455 Golden Gate Ave., Rm 9516, San Francisco 94102 (415) 557-0300 Consultation Region Office
Sacramento 1750 Howe Ave., Ste. 440, Sacramento 95825 (916) 263-2803 •Fresno 2550 Mariposa Mall, Rm. 3014 (559) 445-6800
Santa Ana 2 MacArthur Place, Ste. 720, Santa Ana 92707 (714) 558-4300 Fresno 93721 
Monrovia 800 Royal Oaks Dr., Ste. 105, Monrovia 91016 (626) 471-9122

Enforcement of Cal/OSHA workplace safety and health standards is carried out by the Division of Occupational Safety and Health, under the California Department of Industrial Relations, which has 
primary responsibility for administering the Cal/OSHA program. Safety and health standards are promulgated by the Occupational Safety and Health Standards Board. Anyone desiring to register a 
complaint alleging inadequacy in the administration of the California Occupational Safety and Health Plan may do so by contacting the San Francisco Regional Office of the Occupational 
Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), U.S. Department of Labor Tel: (415) 625-2547. OSHA monitors the operation of state plans to assure that continued approval ismerited. November 2023 
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• FOR USE BY PRIVATE SECTOR AND STATE GOVERNMENT EMPLOYERS •
YOUR RIGHTS UNDER USERRA THE UNIFORMED SERVICES EMPLOYMENT AND REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS ACT

USERRA protects the job rights of individuals who voluntarily or involuntarily leave employment positions to undertake military service or certain types of service in the National Disaster Medical System. USERRA also prohibits 
employers from discriminating against past and present members of the uniformed services, and applicants to the uniformed services.
REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS
You have the right to be reemployed in your civilian job if you leave that job to perform service in the uniformed service and: 
• you ensure that your employer receives advance written or verbal notice of your service; • you have five years or less of cumulative service in the uniformed services while with that particular employer;  • you return to work or apply for reemployment in a 
timely manner after conclusion of service; and  • you have not been separated from service with a disqualifying discharge or under other than honorable conditions. 

If you are eligible to be reemployed, you must be restored to the job and benefits you would have attained if you had not been absent due to military service or, in some cases, a comparable job.

RIGHT TO BE FREE FROM DISCRIMINATION AND RETALIATION
If you: • are a past or present member of the uniformed service;  • have applied for membership in the uniformed service; or  • are obligated to serve in the uniformed service; then an employer  may not deny you:  • initial employment;  • reemployment;  • 
retention in employment;  • promotion; or  • any benefit of employment because of this status. 

HEALTH INSURANCE PROTECTION
• If you leave your job to perform military service, you have the right to elect to continue your existing employer-based health plan coverage for you and your dependents for up to 24 months while in the military.  • Even if you don’t elect to continue coverage 
during your military service, you have the right to be reinstated in your employer’s health plan when you are reemployed, generally without any waiting periods or exclusions (e.g., pre-existing condition exclusions) except for service-connected illnesses or 
injuries.

ENFORCEMENT
• The U.S. Department of Labor, Veterans Employment and Training Service (VETS) is authorized to investigate and resolve complaints of USERRA violations.  • For assistance in filing a complaint, or for any other information on USERRA, contact VETS 
at 1-866-4-USA-DOL or visit its website at https://www.dol.gov/agencies/vets/. An interactive online USERRA Advisor can be viewed at https://webapps.dol.gov/elaws/vets/userra • If you file a complaint with VETS and VETS is unable to resolve it, you may 
request that your case be referred to the Department of Justice or the Office of Special Counsel, as applicable, for representation.  • You may also bypass the VETS process and bring a civil action against an employer for violations of USERRA.

In addition, an employer may not retaliate against anyone assisting in the enforcement of USERRA rights, including testifying or making a statement in connection with a proceeding under USERRA, even if that person has no service connection.

The rights listed here may vary depending on the circumstances. The text of this notice was prepared by VETS, and may be viewed on the internet at this address: https://www.dol.gov/agencies/vets/programs/userra/poster Federal law requires employers 
to notify employees of their rights under USERRA, and employers may meet this requirement by displaying the text of this notice where they customarily place notices for employees.

The Employee Polygraph Protection Act prohibits most private employers from using lie detector tests either for 
pre-employment screening or during the course of employment.

PROHIBITIONS
Employers are generally prohibited from requiring or requesting any employee or job applicant to take a lie detector test, and 
from discharging, disciplining, or discriminating against an employee or prospective employee for refusing to take a test or for 
exercising other rights under the Act.
EXEMPTIONS
Federal, State and local governments are not affected by the law. Also, the law does not apply to tests given by the Federal 
Government to certain private individuals engaged in national security-related activities.
The Act permits polygraph (a kind of lie detector) tests to be administered in the private sector, subject to restrictions, 
to certain prospective employees of security service firms (armored car, alarm, and guard), and of pharmaceutical 
manufacturers, distributors and dispensers.
The Act also permits polygraph testing, subject to restrictions, of certain employees of private firms who are reasonably 
suspected of involvement in a workplace incident (theft, embezzlement, etc.) that resulted in economic loss to the employer.
The law does not preempt any provision of any State or local law or any collective bargaining agreement which is more 
restrictive with respect to lie detector tests.
EXAMINEE RIGHTS

Where polygraph tests are permitted, they are subject to numerous strict standards concerning the conduct and length of the 
test. Examinees have a number of specific rights, including the right to a written notice before testing, the right to refuse or 
discontinue a test, and the right not to have test results disclosed to unauthorized persons.
ENFORCEMENT
The Secretary of Labor may bring court actions to restrain violations and assess civil penalties against violators. Employees 
or job applicants may also bring their own court actions.

THE LAW REQUIRES EMPLOYERS TO DISPLAY THIS POSTER WHERE EMPLOYEES AND JOB APPLICANTS CAN 
READILY SEE IT. 1-866-487-9243 • TTY: 1-877-889-5627 www.dol.gov/whd
            
WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

SKU: CA2-27X40-ENG

EMPLOYEE RIGHTS UNDER THE FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT
$7.25 PER HOUR BEGINNING JULY 24, 2009

The law requires employers to display this poster where employees can readily see it.
OVERTIME PAY: 
At least 1½ times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek.

CHILD LABOR: 
An employee must be at least 16 years old to work in most non-farm jobs and at least 18 to work in non-farm jobs declared hazardous by the Secretary of Labor. Youths 14 and 15 years old may work outside school hours in various non-manufacturing, 
non-mining, non-hazardous jobs with certain work hours restrictions. Different rules apply in agricultural employment.

TIP CREDIT: 
Employers of “tipped employees” who meet certain conditions may claim a partial wage credit based on tips received by their employees. Employers must pay tipped employees a cash wage of at least $2.13 per hour if they claim a tip credit against 
their minimum wage obligation. If an employee’s tips combined with the employer’s cash wage of at least $2.13 per hour do not equal the minimum hourly wage, the employer must make up the difference.

NURSING MOTHERS (PUMP AT WORK): 
The FLSA requires employers to provide reasonable break time for a nursing employee to express breast milk for their nursing child for one year after the child’s birth each time the employee needs to express breast milk. Employers must provide a 
place, other than a bathroom, that is shielded from view and free from intrusion from coworkers and the public, which may be used by the employee to express breast milk.

ENFORCEMENT: 
The Department has authority to recover back wages and an equal amount in liquidated damages in instances of minimum wage, overtime, and other violations. The Department may litigate and/or recommend criminal prosecution. Employers may 
be assessed civil money penalties for each willful or repeated violation of the minimum wage or overtime pay provisions of the law. Civil money penalties may also be assessed for violations of the FLSA’s child labor provisions. Heightened civil money 
penalties may be assessed for each child labor violation that results in the death or serious injury of any minor employee, and such assessments may be doubled when the violations are determined to be willful or repeated. The law also prohibits 
retaliating against or discharging workers who file a complaint or participate in any proceeding under the FLSA.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: 
Certain occupations and establishments are exempt from the minimum wage, and/or overtime pay provisions. Certain narrow exemptions also apply to the pump at work requirements.
• Special provisions apply to workers in American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.
• Some state laws provide greater employee protections; employers must comply with both.
• Some employers incorrectly classify workers as “independent contractors” when they are actually employees under the FLSA. It is important to know the difference between the two because employees (unless exempt) are entitled to the FLSA’s 
minimum wage and overtime pay protections and correctly classified independent contractors are not.
• Certain full-time students, student learners, apprentices, and workers with disabilities may be paid less than the minimum wage under special certificates issued by the Department of Labor.

1-866-487-9243 • TTY: 1-877-889-5627 • www.dol.gov/whd
WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION • UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

Family Care & Medical Leave & Pregnancy Disability Leave

Civil Right Department State of California

Under California law, an employee may have the right to take job-protected leave to care for their own serious health condition 
or a family member with a serious health condition, or to bond with a new child (via birth, adoption, or foster care). California 
law also requires employers to provide jobprotected leave and accommodations to employees who are disabled by pregnancy, 
childbirth, or a related medical condition.  

Under the California Family Rights Act of 1993 (CFRA), many employees have the right to take job-protected leave, which is leave that 
will allow them to return to their job or a similar job
after their leave ends. This leave may be up to 12 work weeks in a 12-month period for:

• the employee’s own serious health condition;
• the serious health condition of a child, spouse, domestic partner, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, or someone 
else with a blood or family-like relationship with the employment (“designated person”); or
• the birth, adoption, or foster care placement of a child. 

If an employee takes leave for their own or a family member’s serious health condition, leave may be taken on an intermittent or reduced 
work schedule when medically necessary, among other circumstances. 

Eligibility. To be eligible for CFRA leave, an employee must have more than 12 months of service with their employer, have worked 
at least 1,250 hours in the 12-month period before the date they want to begin their leave, and their employer must have five or more 
employees. 

Pay and Benefits During Leave. While the law provides only unpaid leave, some employers pay their employees during CFRA leave. 
In addition, employees may choose (or employers may require) use of accrued paid leave while taking CFRA leave under certain 
circumstances. Employees on CFRA leave may also be eligible for benefits administered by the Employment Development Department. 

Taking CFRA leave may impact certain employee benefits and seniority date. If employees want more information regarding eligibility for 
a leave and/or the impact of the leave on seniority and benefits, they should contact their employer.
    
Pregnancy Disability Leave. Even if an employee is not eligible for CFRA leave, if disabled by pregnancy, childbirth or a related medical 
condition, the employee is entitled to take a pregnancy disability leave of up to four months, depending on their period(s) of actual 
disability. If the employee is CFRA-eligible, they have certain rights to take both a pregnancy disability leave and a CFRA leave for reason 

of the birth of their child. 

Reinstatement. Both CFRA leave and pregnancy disability leave contain a guarantee of reinstatement − for pregnancy disability it is to 
the same position and for CFRA it is to the same or a comparable position at the end of the leave, subject to any defense allowed under 
the law. 

Notice. For foreseeable events (such as the expected birth of a child or a planned medical treatment for the employee or of a family 
member), the employee must provide, if possible, at least 30 days’ advance notice to their employer that they will be taking leave. For 
events that are unforeseeable, employees should notify their employers, at least verbally, as soon as they learn of the need for the leave. 
Failure to comply with these notice rules is grounds for, and may result in, deferral of the requested leave until the employee complies 
with this notice policy. 

Certification. Employers may require certification from an employee’s health care provider before allowing leave for pregnancy disability 
or for the employee’s own serious health condition. Employers may also require certification from the health care provider of the 
employee’s family member, including a designated person, who has a serious health condition, before granting leave to take care of that 
family member.

Want to learn more?
Visit: calcivilrights.ca.gov/family-medical-pregnancy-leave/

If you have been subjected to discrimination, harassment, or retaliation at work, or have been improperly denied protected 
leave, file a complaint with the Civil Rights Department (CRD).

TO FILE A COMPLAINT

Civil Rights Department
calcivilrights.ca.gov/complaintprocess
Toll Free: 800.884.1684 / TTY: 800.700.2320
California Relay Service (711)

Have a disability that requires a reasonable accommodation? CRD can assist you with your complaint

For additional translations of this guidance, visit: www.calcivilrights.ca.gov/posters/required

WHISTLEBLOWERS ARE PROTECTED

It is the public policy of the State of California to encourage employees to notify an 
appropriate government or law enforcement agency, person with authority over the 
employee, or another employee with authority to investigate, discover, or correct the 
violation or noncompliance, and to provide information to and testify before a public body 
conducting an investigation, hearing or inquiry, when they have reason to believe their 
employer is violating a state or federal statute, or violating or not complying with a local, 
state or federal rule or regulation.

Who is protected?
Pursuant to California Labor Code Section 1102.5, employees are the protected class 
of individuals. “Employee” means any person employed by an employer, private or public, 
including, but not limited to, individuals employed by the state or any subdivision thereof, 
any county, city, city and county, including any charter city or county, and any school 
district, community college district, municipal or public corporation, political subdivision, 
or the University of California. [California Labor Code Section 1106]

What is a whistleblower?
A “whistleblower” is an employee who discloses information to a government or law 
enforcement agency, person with authority over the employee, or to another employee 
with authority to investigate, discover, or correct the violation or noncompliance, or who 
provides information to or testifies before a public body conducting an investigation, 
hearing or inquiry, where the employee has reasonable cause to believe that the 
information discloses:
1. A violation of a state or federal statute,
2. A violation or noncompliance with a local, state or federal rule or regulation, or
3. With reference to employee safety or health, unsafe working conditions or work 
practices in the employee’s employment or place of employment.
A whistleblower can also be an employee who refuses to participate in an activity that 
would result in a violation of a state or federal statute, or a violation of or noncompliance 
with a local, state or federal rule or regulation.

What protections are afforded to whistleblowers?
1. An employer may not make, adopt, or enforce any rule, regulation, or policy preventing 
an employee from being a whistleblower.
2. An employer may not retaliate against an employee who is a whistleblower.
3. An employer may not retaliate against an employee for refusing to participate in 
an activity that would result in a violation of a state or federal statute, or a violation or 
noncompliance with a state or federal rule or regulation.
4. An employer may not retaliate against an employee for having exercised his or her 
rights as a whistleblower in any former employment.

Under California Labor Code Section 1102.5, if an employer retaliates against a 
whistleblower, the employer may be required to reinstate the employee’s employment 
and work benefits, pay lost wages, and take other steps necessary to comply with the 
law.

How to report improper acts
If you have information regarding possible violations of state or federal statutes, rules, 
or regulations, or violations of fiduciary responsibility by a corporation or limited liability 
company to its shareholders, investors, or employees, call the California State 
Attorney General’s Whistleblower Hotline at 1-800-952-5225. The Attorney General 
will refer your call to the appropriate government authority for review and possible 
investigation. 

BY CAL/OSHA REGULATION 
- GENERAL INDUSTRY SAFETY ORDER 3204 - YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO SEE AND COPY:

· Your medical records and records of exposure to toxic substances or harmful physical agents.
· Records of exposure to toxic substances or harmful physical agents of other employees with work conditions similar to yours.

· Safety Data Sheets (SDS) or other information that exists for chemicals or substances used in the workplace, or which employees may be exposed.

THESE RECORDS ARE AVAILABLE AT: _______________________________________________ FROM: ___________________________________________________
                                   (Location)                                                                                      (Person Responsible)

A COPY OF THE GENERAL INDUSTRY SAFETY ORDER 32 04 IS AVAILABLE FROM: ______________________________________________________________________________
The above information satisfies the requirements of GISO 3204(g), which may be done by posting this placard in the workplace, or by any similar method the employer chooses.

State of California
Department of Industrial Relations

Division of Occupational Safety and Health
1515 Clay Street, Suite 1901

Oakland, CA 94612
Phone: (510) 286-7000

Fax: (510) 286-7037

THE RIGHTS OF EMPLOYEES WHO ARE TRANSGENDER OR GENDER NONCONFORMING

CALIFORNIA LAW PROTECTS TRANSGENDER AND GENDER NONCONFORMING PEOPLE FROM DISCRIMINATION, 
HARASSMENT, AND RETALIATION AT WORK. THESE PROTECTIONS ARE ENFORCED BY THE CIVIL RIGHTS DEPARTMENT 
(CRD).

THINGS YOU NEED TO KNOW
1. Does California law protect transgender and gender nonconforming employees from employment discrimination?
Yes. All employees, job applicants, unpaid interns, volunteers, and contractors are protected from discrimination at work when based on 
a protected characteristic, such as their gender identity, gender expression, sexual orientation, race, or national origin. This means that 
private employers with five or more employees may not, for example, refuse to hire or promote someone because they identify as – or are 
perceived to identify as – transgender or non-binary, or because they express their gender in non-stereotypical ways.
Employment discrimination can occur at any time during the hiring or employment process. In addition to refusing to hire or promote 
someone, unlawful discrimination includes discharging an employee, subjecting them to worse working conditions, or unfairly modifying 
the terms of their employment because of their gender identity or gender expression.

2. Does California law protect transgender and gender nonconforming employees from harassment at work?
Yes. All employers are prohibited from harassing any employee, intern, volunteer, or contractor because of their gender identity or gender 
expression. For example, an employer can be liable if co-workers create a hostile work environment – whether in person or virtual – for 
an employee who is undergoing a gender transition. Similarly, an employer can be liable when customers or other third parties harass an 
employee because of their gender identity or expression, such as intentionally referring to a gendernonconforming
employee by the wrong pronouns or name.

3. Does California law protect employees who complain about discrimination or harassment in the workplace?
Yes. Employers are prohibited from retaliating against any employee who asserts their right under the law to be free from discrimination or 
harassment. For example, an employer commits unlawful retaliation when it responds to an employee making a discrimination complaint 
– to their supervisor, human resources staff, or CRD – by cutting their shifts.

4. If bathrooms, showers, and locker rooms are sexsegregated, can employees choose the one that is most appropriate for them?
Yes. All employees have a right to safe and appropriate restroom and locker room facilities. This includes the right to use a restroom or 
locker room that corresponds to the employee’s gender identity, regardless of the employee’s sex assigned at birth. In addition, where 
possible, an employer should provide an easily accessible, gender-neutral (or “all-gender”), single user facility for use by any employee. 
The use of single stall restrooms and other facilities should always be a matter of choice.
Employees should never be forced to use one, as a matter of policy or due to harassment.

5. Does an employee have the right to be addressed by the name and pronouns that correspond to their gender identity or gender 
expression, even if different from their legal name and gender?
Yes. Employees have the right to use and be addressed by the name and pronouns that correspond with their gender identity or gender 
expression. These are sometimes known as “chosen” or “preferred” names and pronouns. For example, an employee does not need 
to have legally changed their name or birth certificate, nor have undergone any type of gender transition (such as surgery), to use a 
name and/or pronouns that correspond with their gender identity or gender expression. An employer may be legally obligated to use an 
employee’s legal name in specific employment records, but when no legal obligation compels the use of a legal name, employers and 
co-workers must respect an employee’s chosen name and pronouns. For example, some businesses utilize software for payroll and other 
administrative purposes, such as creating work schedules or generating virtual profiles. While it may be appropriate for the business to 
use a transgender employee’s legal name for payroll purposes when legally required, refusing or failing to use that person’s chosen name 
and pronouns, if different from their legal name, on a shift schedule, nametag, instant messaging account, or work ID
card could be harassing or discriminatory. CRD recommends that employers take care to ensure that each employee’s chosen name and 
pronouns are respected to the greatest extent allowed by law.

6. Does an employee have the right to dress in a way that corresponds with their gender identity and gender expression?
Yes. An employer who imposes a dress code must enforce it in a non-discriminatory manner. This means that each employee must be 
allowed to dress in accordance with their gender identity and expression. While an employer may establish a dress code or grooming 
policy in accord with business necessity, all employees must be held to the same standard, regardless of their gender identity or 
expression.

7. Can an employer ask an applicant about their sex assigned at birth or gender identity in an interview?
No. Employers may ask non-discriminatory questions, such as inquiring about an applicant’s employment history or asking for 
professional references. But an interviewer should not ask questions designed to detect a person’s gender identity or gender transition 
history such as asking about why the person changed their name. Employers should also not ask questions about a person’s body or 
whether they plan to have surgery.
Want to learn more?
Visit: https://bit.ly/3hTG1EO

TO FILE A COMPLAINT
Civil Rights Department
calcivilrights.ca.gov/complaintprocess
Toll Free: 800.884.1684 / TTY: 800.700.2320 California Relay Service (711)
Have a disability that requires a reasonable accommodation? CRD can assist you with your complaint.

For translations of this guidance, visit: www.calcivilrights.ca.gov/posters/required

Civil Rights Department State of California

The California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) enforces laws that protect you from illegal discrimination and harassment in employment based on your actual or perceived:

• ANCESTRY
• AGE (40 and above)
• COLOR
• DISABILITY  (physical, developmental, mental health/psychiatric, HIV and AIDS)
• GENETIC INFORMATION
• GENDER EXPRESSION
• GENDER IDENTITY
• MARITAL STATUS
• MEDICAL CONDITION (genetic characteristics, cancer or a record or history of cancer)
• MILITARY OR VETERANS STATUS
• NATIONAL ORIGIN (includes language restrictions and possession of a driver’s license issued to undocumented immigrants)
• RACE (includes hair texture and hairstyles)
• RELIGION (includes religious dress and grooming practices)
• REPRODUCTIVE HEALTH DECISIONMAKING 
• SEX/GENDER (includes pregnancy, childbirth, breastfeeding and/or related medical conditions)
• SEXUAL ORIENTATION

THE CALIFORNIA FAIR EMPLOYMENT AND HOUSING ACT AND ITS IMPLEMENTING REGULATIONS PROTECT CIVIL RIGHTS AT WORK.

HARASSMENT
1. The law prohibits harassment of employees, applicants, unpaid interns, volunteers, and independent contractors by any person. This includes a prohibition against harassment based on any characteristic listed above, such as sexual harassment, gender 
harassment, and harassment based on pregnancy, childbirth, breastfeeding, and/or related medical conditions.
2. All employers are required to take reasonable steps to prevent all forms of harassment, as well as provide information to each of their employees on the nature, illegality, and legal remedies that apply to sexual harassment.
3. Employers with 5 or more employees and public employers must train their employees regarding the prevention of sexual harassment, including harassment based on gender identity, gender expression, and sexual orientation.

DISCRIMINATION/REASONABLE ACCOMODATIONS
1. California law prohibits employers with 5 or more employees and public employers from discriminating based on any protected characteristic listed above when making decisions about hiring, promotion, pay, benefits, terms of employment, layoffs, and 
other aspects of employment.
2. Employers cannot limit or prohibit the use of any language in any workplace unless justified by business necessity. Theemployer must notify employees of the language restriction and consequences for violation.
3. Employers cannot discriminate against an applicant or employee because they possess a California driver’s license or ID issued to an undocumented person.
4. Employers must reasonably accommodate the religious beliefs and practices of an employee, unpaid intern, or job applicant, including the wearing or carrying of religious clothing, jewelry or artifacts, and hair styles, facial hair, or body hair, which are part 
of an individual’s observance of their religious beliefs.
5. Employers must reasonably accommodate an employee or job applicant with a disability to enable them to perform the essential functions of a job.

ADDITIONAL PROTECTIONS
1. The law provides specific protections and hiring procedures for people with criminal histories who are looking for employment. 
2. Employers with 5 or more employees and public employers must provide up to 12 weeks of job-protected leave to eligible employees: to care for themselves, a family member (child of any age, spouse, domestic partner, parent, parent-in- law, 
grandparent, grandchild, sibling) or a designated person (with a blood or family-like relationship to employee); to bond with a new child; or for certain military exigencies. . 
3. Employers must provide job-protected leave of up to 4 months to employees disabled because of pregnancy,
childbirth, or a related medical condition, as well as require employers to reasonably accommodate an employee, on the advice of their health care provider, related to their pregnancy, childbirth, or a related medical condition.
4. Employers, employment agencies, and unions must preserve applications, personnel records, and employment
referral records for a minimum of four years.
5. Employment agencies must serve all applicants equally, refuse discriminatory job orders, and prohibit employers
and employment agencies from making discriminatory prehiring inquiries or publishing help-wanted advertisements that express a discriminatory hiring preference.
6. Unions cannot discriminate in member admissions or dispatching members to jobs.
7. The law prohibits retaliation against a person who opposes, reports, or assists another person to oppose unlawful discrimination, including filing an internal complaint or a complaint with CRD.

REMEDIES/FILING A COMPLAINT
1. The law provides remedies for individuals who experience prohibited discrimination, harassment, or retaliation in
the workplace. These remedies can include hiring, front pay, back pay, promotion, reinstatement, cease-and-desist
orders, expert witness fees, reasonable attorney’s fees and costs, punitive damages, and emotional distress damages.
2. If you believe you have experienced discrimination, harassment, or retaliation, you may file a complaint with
CRD. Independent contractors and volunteers: If you believe you have been harassed, you may file a complaint with CRD.
3. Complaints must be filed within three years of the last act of discrimination/harassment/retaliation. For those who are under the age of eighteen, complaints must be filed within three years after the last act of discrimination/harassment/retaliation or one 
year after their eighteenth birthday, whichever is later.

If you have been subjected to discrimination, harassment, or retaliation at work, file a complaint with the Civil Rights Department (CRD).

TO FILE A COMPLAINT
Civil Rights Department
calcivilrights.ca.gov/complaintprocess
Toll Free: 800.884.1684 / TTY: 800.700.2320
California Relay Service (711)

Have a disability that requires a reasonable accommodation? CRD can assist you with your complaint.

The Fair Employment and Housing Act is codified at Government Code sections 12900 - 12999. The regulations implementing the Act are at Code of Regulations, title 2, division 4.1 Government Code section 12950 and California Code of Regulations, 
title 2, section 11023, require all employers to post this document. It must be conspicuously posted in hiring offices, on employee bulletin boards, in employment agency waiting rooms, union halls, and other places employees gather. Any employer whose 
workforce at any facility or establishment consists of more than 10% of non-English speaking persons must also post this notice in the appropriate language or languages.

CRD-E07P-ENG / January 2023 For translations of this guidance, visit: www.calcivilrights.ca.gov/posters/required

(California Elections Code Section 14000)
Polls are open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. each Election Day. If you are scheduled to be at work during that time, 
California law allows you to take up to two hours off to vote, without losing any pay. You may take as much time as 
you need to vote, but only two hours of that time will be paid. Your time off for voting can be only at the beginning 
or end of your regular work shift, unless you make another arrangement with your employer. If you think you will 
need time off to vote, you must notify your employer at least two working days prior to the election.

CALIFORNIA SECRETARY OF STATE
1500 11th Street, 5th Floor Sacramento, CA 95814

 (800) 345-VOTE (8683) www.sos.ca.gov

HEALTHY WORKPLACES/HEALTHY FAMILIES ACT: CALIFORNIA PAID SICK LEAVE
(as amended effective 1/1/2024)

Entitlement:
• An employee who, on or after July 1, 2015, works in California for 30 or more days within a year from the 

beginning of employment is entitled to paid sick leave.
• Paid sick leave accrues at the rate of one hour per every 30 hours worked, paid at the employee’s regular 

wage rate. Accrual shall begin on the first day of employment or July 1, 2015, whichever is later. Accrued 
paid sick leave shall carry over to the following year of employment and may be capped at 80 hours or 10 
days.

• An employer can also provide 5 days or 40 hours, whichever is greater, of paid sick leave “up-front” at the 
beginning of a 12-month period. No accrual or carry over is required.

• Other accrual plans that meet specified conditions, including PTO plans, may also satisfy the 
requirements.

Usage:
• An employee may use paid sick days beginning on the 90th day of employment.
• An employer shall provide paid sick days upon the oral or written request of an employee for themselves 

or a family member for the diagnosis, care or treatment of an existing health condition or preventive care, 
or specified purposes for an employee who is a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking.

• An employer may limit the use of paid sick days to 40 hours or five days, whichever is greater, in each 
year of employment.

Retaliation or discrimination against an employee who requests paid sick days or uses paid sick days or both is 
prohibited. An employee can file a complaint with the Labor Commissioner against an employer who retaliates or 
discriminates against the employee.

For additional information you may contact your employer or the local office of the Labor Commissioner. Locate 
the office by looking at the list of offices on our website http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/DistrictOffices.htm using the 
alphabetical listing of cities, locations, and communities. Staff is available in person and by telephone. 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA - DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS
Division of Workers’ Compensation

Notice to Employees--Injuries Caused By Work
You may be entitled to workers’ compensation benefits if you are injured or become ill because of your job. Workers’ compensation covers most work-related physical or mental injuries and illnesses. An injury or illness can be caused 
by one event (such as hurting your back in a fall) or by repeated exposures (such as hurting your wrist from doing the same motion over and over).
Benefits. Workers’ compensation benefits include:
• Medical Care: Doctor visits, hospital services, physical therapy, lab tests, x-rays, medicines, medical equipment and travel costs that are reasonably necessary to treat your injury. You should never see a bill. There are limits on 
chiropractic, physical therapy and occupational therapy visits.
• Temporary Disability (TD) Benefits: Payments if you lose wages while recovering. For most injuries, TD benefits may not be paid for more than 104 weeks within five years from the date of injury.
• Permanent Disability (PD) Benefits: Payments if you do not recover completely and your injury causes a permanent loss of physical or mental function that a doctor can measure.
• Supplemental Job Displacement Benefit: A nontransferable voucher, if you are injured on or after 1/1/2004, your injury causes permanent disability, and your employer does not offer you regular, modified, or alternative work.
• Death Benefits: Paid to your dependents if you die from a work-related injury or illness.
Naming Your Own Physician Before Injury or Illness (Predesignation). You may be able to choose the doctor who will treat you for a job injury or illness. If eligible, you must tell your employer, in writing, the name and address 
of your personal physician or medical group before you are injured. You must obtain their agreement to treat you for your work injury. For instructions, see the written information about workers’ compensation that your employer is 
required to give to new employees.

If You Get Hurt:
1. Get Medical Care. If you need emergency care, call 911 for help immediately from the hospital, ambulance, fire department or police department. If you need first aid, contact your employer.
2. Report Your Injury. Report the injury immediately to your supervisor or to an employer representative. Don’t delay. There are time limits. If you wait too long, you may lose your right to benefits. Your employer is required to provide 
you with a claim form within one working day after learning about your injury. Within one working day after you file a claim form, your employer or claims administrator must authorize the provision of all treatment, up to ten thousand 
dollars, consistent with the applicable treatment guidelines, for your alleged injury until the claim is accepted or rejected.
3. See Your Primary Treating Physician (PTP). This is the doctor with overall responsibility for treating your injury or illness.
• If you predesignated your personal physician or a medical group, you may see your personal physician or the medical group after you are injured.
• If your employer is using a medical provider network (MPN) or a health care organization (HCO), in most cases you will be treated within the MPN or HCO unless you predesignated a personal physician or medical group. An MPN 
is a group of physicians and health care providers who provide treatment to workers injured on the job. You should receive information from your employer if you are covered by an HCO or a MPN. Contact your employer for more 
information.
• If your employer is not using an MPN or HCO, in most cases the claims administrator can choose the doctor who first treats you when you are injured, unless you predesignated a personal physician or medical group.
4. Medical Provider Networks. Your employer may be using an MPN, which is a group of health care providers designated to provide treatment to workers injured on the job. If you have predesignated a personal physician or medical 
group prior to your work injury, then you may go there to receive treatment from your predesignated doctor. If you are treating with a non-MPN doctor for an existing injury, you may be required to change to a doctor within the MPN. For 
more information, see the MPN contact information below:

MPN website:______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

MPN Effective Date:_________________________________________________ MPN Identification number: ________________________________

If you need help locating an MPN physician, call your MPN access assistant at:_______________________________________________________

If you have questions about the MPN or want to file a complaint against the MPN, call the MPN Contact Person at:__________________________

Discrimination: It is illegal for your employer to punish or fire you for having a work injury or illness, for filing a claim, or testifying in another person's workers' compensation case. If proven, you may receive lost wages, job 
reinstatement, increased benefits, and costs and expenses up to limits set by the state.

Questions? Learn more about workers' compensation by reading the information that your employer is required to give you at time of hire. If you have questions, see your employer or the claims administrator (who handles workers' 
compensation claims for your employer):

Claims Administrator________________________________________________________ Phone_______________________________________

Workers’ compensation insurer______________________________________________________________(Enter “self-insured” if appropriate)

You can also get free information from a State Division of Workers’ Compensation Information (DWC) & Assistance Officer. The nearest Information & Assistance Officer can be found at 

location:__________________________________________________________________  or by calling toll-free (800) 736-7401. Learn more information about workers’ compensation online: www.dwc.ca.gov and access a useful 
booklet “Workers’ Compensation in California: A Guidebook for Injured Workers.”

If the workers’ compensation policy has expired, contact a Labor Commissioner at the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE).
You can also get free information from a State Division of Workers’ Compensation Information & Assistance Officer. The nearest Information & 

Assistance Officer can be found at location:_________________________________________________________________________
 or by calling toll-free (800) 736-7401. Learn more information about DWC and DLSE online: www.dwc.ca.gov or www.dir.ca.gov/dlse.

False claims and false denials.  Any person who makes or causes to be made any knowingly false or fraudulent material statement or material representation for the purpose of obtaining or denying workers’ compensation benefits or 
payments is guilty of a felony and may be fined and imprisoned.

Your employer may not be liable for the payment of workers’ compensation benefits for any injury that arises from your voluntary participation in any off-duty, recreational, social, or athletic activity that is not part of your work-related 
duties.

Labor Code Section 6404.5 prohibits smoking in places of employment. No 
employer shall knowingly or intentionally permit, and no person shall engage in, 
the smoking of tobacco products in an enclosed space at a place of employment.

Your employer must send a copy of your Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate (Form W-4 [federal] or 
DE 4 [state]) to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) if the form meets either of the following two conditions:
• You claim more than 10 withholding allowances.
• You claim to be exempt from state or federal income tax withholding and your employer expects your usual weekly 
wages to exceed $200.
Your employer will continue to treat the Form W-4 and/or DE 4 as valid until notified, in writing, by the FTB of the proper 
marital status and number of allowances to use for California Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding purposes.

If you disagree with the FTB determination, you may request a review of the determination by writing to:

W-4 Unit Franchise Tax Board  MS F180
P.O. Box 2952

Sacramento, CA 95812-2952
Fax (916) 843-1094

You, as the employee, will have to provide proof that the FTB determination is incorrect for California PIT withholding 
purposes. Your employer must continue to withhold as instructed in the original determination until notified by the FTB, in 
writing, of any changes.

If the FTB finds that the number of withholding allowances you claimed is unreasonable, you may be subject to a $500 
penalty as provided by Section 13101 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code.

This employer is registered with the Employment Development Department (EDD) as required by the California Unemployment Insurance Code and is reporting wage credits to the EDD that are being accumulated for 
you to be used as a basis for:

Unemployment Insurance
(funded entirely by employers’ taxes)

Unemployment Insurance (UI) is paid for by your employer and provides partial income replacement when you are unemployed or your hours are reduced due to no fault of your own. To claim UI benefit payments you must also meet 
all UI eligibility requirements, including that you must be available for work and searching for work.

How to File a New UI Claim
Use one of the following methods:

• Online: UI OnlineSM is the fastest and most convenient way to file your UI claim. Visit UI Online (edd.ca.gov/UI_Online) to get started.
• Phone: Representatives are available at the following toll-free numbers, Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. to 12 noon (Pacific Standard Time) except during state holidays.

English 1-800-300-5616 Cantonese 1-800-547-3506 Vietnamese 1-800-547-2058
Spanish 1-800-326-8937 Mandarin 1-866-303-0706 TTY 1-800-815-9387

• Fax or Mail: When accessing UI Online to file a new claim, some customers will be instructed to fax or mail their UI application to the EDD. If this occurs, the Unemployment Insurance Application (DE 1101I),will display. For faster and 
more secure processing, fax the completed form to the number listed on the form. If mailing your UI application, use the address on the form and allow additional time for processing.
Important: Waiting to file your UI claim may delay benefit payments.

Disability Insurance
(funded entirely by employees’ contributions)

Disability Insurance (DI) is funded by employees’ contributions and provides partial wage replacement benefits to eligible Californians who are unable to work due to a non-work-related illness, injury, pregnancy, or disability.
Your employer must provide the Disability Insurance Provisions (DE 2515) brochure, to newly hired employees and to each employee who is unable to work due to a non-work-related illness, injury, pregnancy, or disability.

How to File a New DI Claim
Use one of the following methods:

• Online: SDI Online is the fastest and most convenient way to file your claim. Visit SDI Online (edd.ca.gov/SDI_Online) to get started.
• Mail: To file a claim with the EDD by mail, complete and submit a Claim for Disability Insurance (DI) Benefits(DE 2501) form. 
You can obtain a paper claim form from your employer, physician/practitioner, visiting a State Disability Insurance office, online at EDD Forms and Publications (edd.ca.gov/Forms), or by calling 1-800-480-3287.

Note: If your employer maintains an approved Voluntary Plan for DI coverage, contact your employer for assistance.

For more information about DI, visit State Disability Insurance (edd.ca.gov/disability) or call 1-800-480-3287.
State government employees should call 1-866-352-7675. TTY (for deaf or hearing-impaired individuals only) is available at 1-800-563-2441.

Paid Family Leave
(funded entirely by employees’ contributions)

Paid Family Leave (PFL) is funded by employees’ contributions and provides partial wage replacement benefits to eligible Californians who need time off work to care for seriously ill child, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, 
sibling, spouse, or registered domestic partner. Benefits are available to parents who need time off work to bond with a new child entering the family by birth, adoption, or foster care placement. Benefits are also available for eligible 
Californians who need time off work to participate in a qualifying event resulting from a spouse, registered domestic partner, parent, or child’s military deployment to a foreign country. Your employer must provide the Paid Family Leave 
(DE 2511) brochure, to newly hired employees and to each employee who is taking time off work to care for a seriously ill family members, to bond with a new child, or to participate in a qualifying military event.

How to File a New PFL Claim
Use one of the following methods:

• Online: SDI Online is the fastest and most convenient way to file your claim. Visit SDI Online (edd.ca.gov/SDI_Online) to get started.
• Mail: To file a claim with the EDD by mail, complete and submit a Claim for Paid Family Leave (PFL) Benefits(DE 2501F) form. You can obtain a paper claim form from your employer, a physician/practitioner, visiting a State Disability 
Insurance office, online at EDD Forms and Publications (edd.ca.gov/Forms), or by calling 1-877-238-4373.

Note: If your employer maintains an approved Voluntary Plan for PFL coverage, contact your employer for assistance.

For more information about PFL, visit State Disability Insurance (edd.ca.gov/disability) or call 1-877-238-4373. State government employees should call 1-877-945-4747. TTY (for deaf or hearing-impaired individuals only) is available at 
1-800-445-1312.

Note: Some employees may be exempt from coverage by the above insurance programs. It is illegal to make a false statement or to withhold facts to claim benefits. For additional information, visit the EDD (edd.ca.gov).

YOUR EMPLOYER* HAS AN OBLIGATION TO
• Reasonably accommodate your medical needs related to pregnancy, childbirth, or related 
conditions (such as temporarily modifying your work duties, providing you with a stool or chair, or 
allowing more frequent breaks); 
• Transfer you to a less strenuous or hazardous position (if one is available) or duties if medically 
needed because of your pregnancy; 
• Provide you with pregnancy disability leave (PDL) of up to four months (the working days you 
normally would work in one-third of a year or 17 1/3 weeks) and return you to your same job when 
you are no longer disabled by your pregnancy or, in certain instances, to a comparable job. Taking 
PDL, however, does not protect you from non-leave related employment actions, such as a layoff; 
• Provide a reasonable amount of break time and use of a room or other location in close proximity to 
the employee’s work area to express breast milk in private as set forth in the Labor Code; and 
• Never discriminate, harass, or retaliate on the basis of pregnancy. 

FOR PREGNANCY DISABILITY LEAVE
• PDL is not for an automatic period of time, but for the period of time that you are disabled by 
pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical condition. Your health care provider determines how much 
time you will need. 
• Once your employer has been informed that you need to take PDL, your employer must guarantee 
in writing that you can return to work in your same or a comparable position if you request a written 
guarantee. Your employer may require you to submit written medical certification from your health 
care provider substantiating the need for your leave. 
• PDL may include, but is not limited to, additional or more frequent breaks, time for prenatal or 
postnatal medical appointments, and doctor-ordered bed rest, and covers conditions such as severe 
morning sickness, gestational diabetes, pregnancy-induced hypertension, preeclampsia, recovery 
from childbirth or loss or end of pregnancy, and/or post-partum depression. 
• PDL does not need to be taken all at once but can be taken on an as-needed basis as required by 
your health care provider, including intermittent leave or a reduced work schedule. 
• Your leave will be paid or unpaid depending on your employer’s policy for other medical leaves. You 
may also be eligible for state disability insurance or Paid Family Leave (PFL), administered by the 
California Employment Development Department. 
• At your discretion, you can use any vacation or other paid time off during your PDL. 
• Your employer may require or you may choose to use any available sick leave during your PDL. 
• Your employer is required to continue your group health coverage during your PDL at the same 
level and under the same conditions that coverage would have been provided if you had continued in 
employment continuously for the duration of your leave. 
• Taking PDL may impact certain of your benefits and your seniority date; please contact your 
employer for details.

WHAT ARE SOME POSSIBLE ACCOMMODATIONS FOR PREGNANT WORKERS?
• Being able to sit or drink water
• Receiving closer parking
• Having flexible hours
• Receiving appropriately sized uniforms and safety apparel
• Receiving additional break time to use the bathroom, eat, and rest
• Taking leave or time off to recover from childbirth
• Being excused from strenuous activities and/or exposure to chemicals not safe for pregnancy

WHAT OTHER FEDERAL EMPLOYMENT LAWS MAY APPLY TO PREGNANT WORKERS?
Other laws that apply to workers affected by pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions, 
include:
• Title VII which prohibits employment discrimination based on sex, pregnancy, or other 

protected categories (enforced by the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission 
(EEOC))

• The ADA which prohibits employment discrimination based on disability (enforced by the 

EEOC)
• The Family and Medical Leave Act which provides unpaid leave for certain workers for 

pregnancy and to bond with a new child (enforced by the U.S Department of Labor)
• The PUMP Act which provides nursing mothers a time and private place to pump at work 

(enforced by the U.S. Department of Labor)

Learn more at www.EEOC.gov/Pregnancy-Discrimination

NOTICE OBLIGATIONS AS AN EMPLOYEE
• Give your employer reasonable notice. To receive reasonable accommodation, obtain a transfer, or 
take PDL, you must give your employer sufficient notice for your employer to make appropriate plans. 
Sufficient notice means 30 days advance notice if the need for the reasonable accommodation, 
transfer, or PDL is foreseeable, or as soon as practicable if the need is an emergency or 
unforeseeable. 
• Provide a written medical certification from your health care provider. Except in a medical 
emergency where there is no time to obtain it, your employer may require you to supply a written 
medical certification from your health care provider of the medical need for your reasonable 
accommodation, transfer or PDL. If the need is an emergency or unforeseeable, you must provide 
this certification within the time frame your employer requests, unless it is not practicable for you to 
do so under the circumstances despite your diligent, good faith efforts. Your employer must provide 
at least 15 calendar days for you to submit the certification. See if your employer has a copy of a 
medical certification form to give to your health care provider to complete. 
• Please note that if you fail to give your employer reasonable advance notice or, if your employer 
requires it, written medical certification of your medical need, your employer may be justified in 
delaying your reasonable accommodation, transfer, or PDL.

ADDITIONAL LEAVE UNDER THE CALIFORNIA FAMILY RIGHTS ACT (CFRA)
Under the California Family Rights Act (CFRA), if you have more than 12 months of service with an 
employer, and have worked at least 1,250 hours in the 12-month period before the date you want to 
begin your leave, you may have a right to a family care or medical leave (CFRA leave). This leave 
may be up to 12 workweeks in a 12-month period for the birth, adoption, or foster care placement 
of your child**, or for your own serious health condition or that of your child, parent***, spouse, 
domestic partner, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, or someone else related by blood or in family-like 
relationship with the employee (“designated person”). Employers may pay their employees while 
taking CFRA leave, but employers are not required to do so, unless the employee is taking accrued 
paid time-off while on CFRA leave. Employees taking CFRA leave may be eligible for benefits 
administered by Employment Development Department.

TO FILE A COMPLAINT
Civil Rights Department 
calcivilrights.ca.gov/complaintprocess 
Toll Free: 800.884.1684 / TTY: 800.700.2320 
California Relay Service (711) 

Have a disability that requires a reasonable accommodation? CRD can assist you with your 
complaint. For translations of this guidance, visit: www.calcivilrights.ca.gov/posters/required

*PDL, CFRA leave, and anti-discrimination protections apply to employers of 5 or more employees; anti-harassment protections apply to 
employers of 1 or more.
** “Child” means a biological, adopted, or foster child, a stepchild, a legal ward, or a child of an employee or the employee’s domestic 
partner, or a person to whom the employee stands in loco parentis.
*** “Parent” includes a biological, foster, or adoptive parent, a parent-in-law, a stepparent, a legal guardian, or other person who stood in 
loco parentis to the employee when the employee was a child.

Employers subject to the 
state minimum wage law are 

obligated to pay the higher rate

PLEASE POST NEXT TO YOUR IWC OR INDUSTRY OCCUPATION ORDER OFFICIAL NOTICE
California Minimum Wage

MW-2024

Every employer, regardless of the number of employees, shall pay to each employee wages not less than the following:

Effective January 1, 2024  Minimum Wage $16.00 per hour
Previous Years

EFFECTIVE DATE Employers with 25 or Fewer Employees* Employers with 26 or More Employees *

January 1, 2023 $15.50 $15.50

January 1, 2022 $14.00 $15.00

January 1, 2021 $13.00 $14.00

*Employees treated as employed by a single qualified taxpayer pursuant to Revenue and Taxation Code section 23626 are treated as employees of that single taxpayer. To employers and representatives of persons working in industries and occupations in 
the State of California:

SUMMARY OF ACTIONS
TAKE NOTICE that on April 4, 2016, the Governor of California signed legislation passed by the California Legislature, raising the minimum wage for all industries. (SB 3, Stats of 2016, amending section 1182.12. of the California Labor Code.) Pursuant 
to its authority under Labor Code section 1182.13, the Department of Industrial Relations amends and republishes Sections 2, 3, and 5 of the General Minimum Wage Order, MW-2019. Section 1, Applicability, and Section 4, Separability, have not been 
changed. Consistent with this enactment, amendments are made to the minimum wage, and the meals and lodging credits sections of all of the IWC’s industry and occupation orders.
This summary must be made available to employees in accordance with the IWC’s wage orders. Copies of the full text of the amended wage orders may be obtained by downloading online at https://www.dir.ca.gov/iwc/WageOrderIndustries.htm or by 
contacting your local Division of Labor Standards Enforcement office.

1. APPLICABILITY
The provisions of this Order shall not apply to outside salespersons and individuals who are the parent, spouse, or children of the employer previously contained in this Order and the IWC’s industry and occupation orders. Exceptions and modifications 
provided by statute or in Section 1, Applicability, and in other sections of the IWC’s industry and occupation orders may be used where any such provisions are enforceable and applicable to the employer.

2. MINIMUM WAGES
Every employer shall pay to each employee wages not less than those stated above, on each effective date, per hour for all hours worked.

3. MEALS AND LODGING CREDITS - TABLE
When credit for meals or lodging is used to meet part of the employer’s minimum wage obligation, the amounts so credited pursuant to a voluntary written agreement may not be more than the following

EFFECTIVE: JANUARY 1, 2021 JANUARY 1, 2022 JANUARY 1, 2023 JANUARY 1, 2024

For an employer who employs: 
LODGING

26 or More 
Employees

25 or Fewer 
Employees

26 or More 
Employees

25 or Fewer 
Employees

All Employers regardless of number 
of Employees

All Employers regardless of number of 
Employees

Room occupied alone $65.83
/week

$61.13
/week

$70.53
/week

$65.83
/week

$72.88
/week

$75.23
/week

Room shared $54.34
/week

$50.46
/week

$58.22
/week

$54.34
/week

$60.16
/week

$62.10
/week

Apartment – two thirds (2/3) of the ordinary 
rental value, and in no event more than:

$790.67
/month

$734.21
/month

$847.12
/month

$790.67
/month

$875.33
/month

$903.60
/month

Where a couple are both employed by the 
employer, two thirds (2/3) of the ordinary 
rental value, and in no event more than:

$1169.59
/month

$1086.07
/month

$1253.10
/month

$1169.59
/month

$1294.83
/month

$1336.65
/month

MEALS

Breakfast $5.06 $4.70 $5.42 $5.06 $5.60 $5.78

Lunch $6.97 $6.47 $7.47 $6.97 $7.72 $7.97

Dinner $9.35 $8.68 $10.02 $9.35 $10.35 $10.68

Meals or lodging may not be credited against the minimum wage without a voluntary written agreement between the employer and the employee. When credit for meals or lodging is used to meet part of the employer’s minimum wage obligation, the 
amounts so credited may not be more than the amounts stated in the table above.

4. SEPARABILITY
If the application of any provision of this Order, or any section, subsection, subdivision, sentence, clause, phrase, word or portion of this Order should be held invalid, unconstitutional, unauthorized, or prohibited by statute, the remaining provisions thereof 
shall not be affected thereby, but shall continue to be given full force and effect as if the part so held invalid or unconstitutional had not been included herein.

5. AMENDED PROVISIONS
This Order amends the minimum wage and meals and lodging credits in MW-2023, as well as in the IWC’s industry and occupation orders. (See Orders 1-15, Secs. 4 and 10; and Order 16, Secs. 4 and 9.) This Order makes no other changes to the IWC’s 
industry and occupation orders.

These Amendments to the Wage Orders shall be in effect as of January 1, 2024.

Questions about enforcement should be directed to the Labor Commissioner’s Office. For the address and telephone number of the office nearest you, information can be found on the internet at www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE/dlse.html or under a search for 
“California Labor Commissioner’s Office” on the internet or any other directory. The Labor Commissioner has offices in the following cities: Bakersfield, El Centro, Fresno, Long Beach, Los Angeles, Oakland, Redding, Sacramento, Salinas, San Bernardino, 
San Diego, San Francisco, San Jose, Santa Ana, Santa Barbara, Santa Rosa, Stockton, and Van Nuys.

DATE  POSTED:__________________________________
Labor Laws change often. Please call your distributor 
twice a year to confirm if you are in compliance. 
All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized copies are illegal.

The Division of Labor Standards Enforcement 
believes that the sample posting below meets the 
requirements of Labor Code Section 1102.8(a). 
This document must be printed to 8.5 x 14 inch 
paper with margins no larger than one-half inch in 
order to conform to the statutory requirement that 

the lettering be larger than size 14 point type.
NOTE: OSHA REQUIRES THAT REPRODUCTIONS OR FACSIMILES OF THE POSTER BE AT LEAST 8.5" X 14" INCHES WITH 10 POINT TYPE. 
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Civil Rights Department State of California

SEXUAL HARASSMENT

THE FACTS
Sexual harassment is a form of discrimination based on sex/gender (including pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical 
conditions), gender identity, gender expression, or sexual orientation. Individuals of any gender can be the target of sexual 
harassment. Unlawful sexual harassment does not have to be motivated by sexual desire. Sexual harassment may involve 
harassment by a person of the same gender, regardless of either person’s sexual orientation or gender identity

THERE ARE TWO TYPES OF SEXUAL HARASSMENT 
1. “Quid pro quo” (Latin for “this for that”) sexual harassment is when someone conditions a job, promotion, or other work 
benefit on your submission to sexual advances or other conduct based on sex. 
2. “Hostile work environment” sexual harassment occurs when unwelcome comments or conduct based on sex 
unreasonably interferes with your work performance or creates an intimidating, hostile, or offensive work environment. You 
may experience sexual harassment even if the offensive conduct was not aimed directly at you. The harassment must be 
severe or pervasive to be unlawful. A single act of harassment may be sufficiently severe to be unlawful. 

BEHAVIORS THAT MAY BE SEXUAL HARASSMENT 
1. Unwanted sexual advances 
2. Offering employment benefits in exchange for sexual favors 
3. Leering; gestures; or displaying sexually suggestive objects, pictures, cartoons, or posters 
4. Derogatory comments, epithets, slurs, or jokes 
5. Graphic comments, sexually degrading words, or suggestive or obscene messages or invitations 
6. Physical touching or assault, as well as impeding or blocking movements

Actual or threatened retaliation for rejecting advances or complaining about harassment is also unlawful. 

Employees or job applicants who believe that they have been sexually harassed or retaliated against may file a complaint 
of discrimination with CRD within three years of the last act of harassment or retaliation. CRD serves as a neutral 
fact-finder and attempts to help the parties voluntarily resolve disputes. If CRD finds sufficient evidence to establish that 
discrimination occurred and settlement efforts fail, the Department may file a civil complaint in state or federal court to 
address the causes of the discrimination and on behalf of the complaining party. CRD may seek court orders changing the 
employer’s policies and practices, punitive damages, and attorney’s fees and costs if it prevails in litigation. Employees can 
also pursue the matter through a private lawsuit in civil court after a complaint has been filed with CRD and a Right-to-Sue 
Notice has been issued. 

EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITY & LIABILITY 
All employers, regardless of the number of employees, are covered by the harassment provisions of California law. 
Employers are liable for harassment by their supervisor or agents. Employees accused of harassment, including both 
supervisory and non-supervisory personnel, may be held personally liable for harassment or for aiding and abetting 
harassment. The law requires employers to take reasonable steps to prevent harassment. If an employer fails to take such 
steps, that employer can be held liable for the harassment. In addition, an employer may be liable for the harassment by a 
non-employee (for example, a client or customer) of an employee, applicant, or person providing services for the employer. 
An employer will only be liable for this form of harassment if it knew or should have known of the harassment, and failed to 
take immediate and appropriate corrective action. 

Employers have an affirmative duty to take reasonable steps to prevent and promptly correct discriminatory and harassing 
conduct, and to create a workplace free of harassment. 

A program to eliminate sexual harassment from the workplace is not only required by law, but it is the most practical way for 
an employer to avoid or limit liability if harassment occurs. 

ALL EMPLOYERS MUST TAKE THE FOLLOWING ACTIONS TO PREVENT HARASSMENT AND CORRECT IT WHEN 
IT OCCURS: 
1. Distribute copies of this document or an alternative writing that complies with Government Code 12950. This document 
may be duplicated in any quantity. 
2. Post a copy of the CRD employment poster “California Law Prohibits Workplace Discrimination and Harassment.” 
3. Develop a harassment, discrimination, and retaliation prevention policy in accordance with 2 CCR 11023. 

The policy must: 
• Be in writing.

• List all protected groups under the FEHA. 
• Indicate that the law prohibits coworkers and third parties, as well as supervisors and managers with whom the employee 
comes into contact, from engaging in prohibited harassment. 
• Create a complaint process that ensures confidentiality to the extent possible; a timely response; an impartial and timely 
investigation by qualified personnel; documentation and tracking for reasonable progress; appropriate options for remedial 
actions and resolutions; and timely closures. 
• Provide a complaint mechanism that does not require an employee to complain directly to their immediate supervisor. 
• That complaint mechanism must include, but is not limited to including: provisions for direct communication, either orally 
or in writing, with a designated company representative; and / or a complaint hotline; and/ or access to an ombudsperson; 
and/ or identification of CRD and the United States Equal Employment Opportunity Commission as additional avenues for 
employees to lodge complaints. 
• Instruct supervisors to report any complaints of misconduct to a designated company representative, such as a human 
resources manager, so that the company can try to resolve the claim internally. Employers with 50 or more employees are 
required to include this as a topic in mandated sexual harassment prevention training (see 2 CCR 11024). 
• Indicate that when the employer receives allegations of misconduct, it will conduct a fair, timely, and thorough 
investigation that provides all parties appropriate due process and reaches reasonable conclusions based on the evidence 
collected. 
• Make clear that employees shall not be retaliated against as a result of making a complaint or participating in an 
investigation. 

4. Distribute its harassment, discrimination, and retaliation prevention policy by doing one or more of the following: 
• Printing the policy and providing a copy to employees with an acknowledgment form for employees to sign and return. 
• Sending the policy via email with an acknowledgment return form. 
• Posting the current version of the policy on a company intranet with a tracking system to ensure all employees have read 
and acknowledged receipt of the policy. 
• Discussing policies upon hire and/or during a new hire orientation. 
• Using any other method that ensures employees received and understand the policy. 

5. If the employer’s workforce at any facility or establishment contains ten percent or more of persons who speak a 
language other than English as their spoken language, that employer shall translate the harassment, discrimination, and 
retaliation policy into every language spoken by at least ten percent of the workforce. 

6. In addition, employers who do business in California and employ 5 or more part-time or full-time employees must provide 
at least one hour of training regarding the prevention of sexual harassment, including harassment based on gender identity, 
gender expression, and sexual orientation, to each non-supervisory employee; and two hours of such training to each 
supervisory employee. All employees must be trained by January 1, 2023. New supervisory employees must be trained 
within six months of assuming their supervisory position, and new non-supervisory employees must be trained within six 
months of hire. Employees must be retrained once every two years. Please see Gov. Code 12950.1 and 2 CCR 11024 for 
further information. 

CIVIL REMEDIES 
1. Damages for emotional distress from each employer or person in violation of the law 
2. Hiring or reinstatement 
3. Back pay or promotion 
4. Changes in the policies or practices of the employer 

To schedule an appointment, contact the Communication Center below. 

If you have a disability that requires a reasonable accommodation, the CRD can assist you by scribing your intake by 
phone or, for individuals who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing or have speech disabilities, through the California Relay Service 
(711), or you can contact us below. 

TO FILE A COMPLAINT 

Civil Rights Department 
calcivilrights.ca.gov/complaintprocess 
Toll Free: 800.884.1684 / TTY: 800.700.2320 
California Relay Service (711) 

Have a disability that requires a reasonable accommodation? CRD can assist you with your complaint.
For translations of this guidance, visit: www.calcivilrights.ca.gov/posters/required CRD-185P-ENG / January 2023

Updated 7/18

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES
UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE BENEFITS

You may be eligible to receive Unemployment Insurance benefits if you are:

• Unemployed or working less than full-time.
and
• Out of work due to no fault of your own and physically able to work, ready to accept work, and looking for 
work.

This employer is registered under the California Unemployment Insurance Code and is reporting wage credits 
to the Employment Development Department (EDD) that are being accumulated for you to be used as a basis 
for Unemployment Insurance benefits.

Employees of Educational Institutions:
Unemployment Insurance benefits based on wages earned while employed by a public or nonprofit educational 
institution may not be paid during a school recess period if the employee has reasonable assurance of 
returning to work at the end of the recess period (California Unemployment Insurance Code section 1253.3). 

Benefits based on other covered employment may be payable during recess periods if the unemployed 
individual is in all other respects eligible, and the wages earned in other covered employment are sufficient 
to establish an Unemployment Insurance claim after excluding wages earned from a public or nonprofit 
educational institution(s).

Note: Some employees may be exempt from Unemployment and Disability Insurance coverage.

The fastest way to file for Unemployment Insurance (UI) is with UI Online at www.edd.ca.gov/UI_Online.

You may also file for Unemployment Insurance by calling toll-free from anywhere in the U.S. at:

English 1-800-300-5616 ● Mandarin 1-866-303-0706
Spanish 1-800-326-8937 ● Vietnamese 1-800-547-2058

Cantonese 1-800-547-3506 ● TTY 1-800-815-9387

Note: Waiting to file a claim could delay benefits.
EDD representatives are available Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 12 noon (Pacific Time).

Amends General Minimum Wage
Order and IWC Industry and 

Occupation Orders
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Know Your Rights:
Workplace Discrimination is Illegal

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) enforces Federal laws that protect you 
from discrimination in employment. If you believe you’ve been discriminated against at work or in applying 
for a job, the EEOC may be able to help.

Who is Protected?
• Employees (current and former), including managers and temporary employees
• Job applicants
• Union members and applicants for membership in a union

What Organizations are Covered?
• Most private employers
• State and local governments (as employers)
• Educational institutions (as employers)
• Unions
• Staffing agencies

What Types of Employment Discrimination are Illegal?
Under the EEOC’s laws, an employer may not discriminate against you, regardless of your immigration 
status, on the bases of:
• Race
• Color
• Religion
• National origin
• Sex (including pregnancy and related conditions, sexual orientation, or gender identity)
• Age (40 and older)
• Disability
• Genetic information (including employer requests for, or purchase, use, or disclosure of genetic tests, 
genetic services, or family medical history)
• Retaliation for filing a charge, reasonably opposing discrimination, or participating in a discrimination 
lawsuit, investigation, or proceeding.
• Interference, coercion, or threats related to exercising rights regarding disability discrimination or 
pregnancy accommodation

What Employment Practices can be Challenged as Discriminatory?
All aspects of employment, including:
• Discharge, firing, or lay-off
• Harassment (including unwelcome verbal or physical conduct)
• Hiring or promotion
• Assignment
• Pay (unequal wages or compensation)
• Failure to provide reasonable accommodation for a disability or a sincerelyheld religious belief, 
observance or practice
• Benefits
• Job training
• Classification
• Referral
• Obtaining or disclosing genetic information of employees
• Requesting or disclosing medical information of employees
• Conduct that might reasonably discourage someone from opposing discrimination, filing a charge, or 
participating in an investigation or proceeding.
• Conduct that coerces, intimidates, threatens, or interferes with someone exercising their rights, or 
someone assisting or encouraging someone else to exercise rights, regarding disability discrimination 
(including accommodation) or pregnancy accommodation

What can You Do if You Believe Discrimination has Occurred?
Contact the EEOC promptly if you suspect discrimination. Do not delay, because there are strict time 
limits for filing a charge of discrimination (180 or 300 days, depending on where you live/work). You can 
reach the EEOC in any of the following ways:

Submit an inquiry through the EEOC’s public portal: https://publicportal.eeoc.gov/Portal/Login.aspx

Call 1–800–669–4000 (toll free)
1–800–669–6820 (TTY)
1–844–234–5122 (ASL video phone)
Visit an EEOC field office (information at www.eeoc.gov/field-office)
E-Mail info@eeoc.gov

Additional information about the EEOC, including information about filing a charge of discrimination, is 
available at www.eeoc.gov.

EMPLOYERS HOLDING FEDERAL CONTRACTS OR SUBCONTRACTS
The Department of Labor’s Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP) enforces the 
nondiscrimination and affirmative action commitments of companies doing business with the Federal 
Government. If you are applying for a job with, or are an employee of, a company with a Federal contract 
or subcontract, you are protected under Federal law from discrimination on the following bases:

Race, Color, Religion, Sex, Sexual Orientation, Gender Identity, National Origin
Executive Order 11246, as amended, prohibits employment discrimination by Federal contractors based 
on race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, or national origin, and requires affirmative 
action to ensure equality of opportunity in all aspects of employment.

Asking About, Disclosing, or Discussing Pay
Executive Order 11246, as amended, protects applicants and employees of Federal contractors from 
discrimination based on inquiring about, disclosing, or discussing their compensation or the compensation 
of other applicants or employees.

Disability
Section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, protects qualified individuals with disabilities 
from discrimination in hiring, promotion, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job training, classification, referral, 
and other aspects of employment by Federal contractors. Disability discrimination includes not making 
reasonable accommodation to the known physical or mental limitations of an otherwise qualified individual 
with a disability who is an applicant or employee, barring undue hardship to the employer. Section 503 
also requires that Federal contractors take affirmative action to employ and advance in employment 
qualified individuals with disabilities at all levels of employment, including the executive level.

Protected Veteran Status
The Vietnam Era Veterans’ Readjustment Assistance Act of 1974, as amended, 38 U.S.C. 4212, prohibits 
employment discrimination against, and requires affirmative action to recruit, employ, and advance in 
employment, disabled veterans, recently separated  veterans (i.e., within three years of discharge or 
release from active duty), active duty wartime or campaign badge veterans, or Armed Forces service 
medal veterans.

Retaliation
Retaliation is prohibited against a person who files a complaint of discrimination, participates in an 
OFCCP proceeding, or otherwise opposes discrimination by Federal contractors under these Federal 
laws.

Any person who believes a contractor has violated its nondiscrimination or affirmative action obligations 
under OFCCP’s authorities should contact immediately:

The Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP)
U.S. Department of Labor
200 Constitution Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20210
1–800–397–6251 (toll-free)

If you are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a speech disability, please dial 7–1–1 to access 
telecommunications relay services. OFCCP may also be contacted by submitting a question online to 
OFCCP’s Help Desk at https://ofccphelpdesk.dol.gov/s/, or by calling an OFCCP regional or district office, 
listed in most telephone directories under U.S. Government, Department of Labor and on OFCCP’s 
“Contact Us” webpage at https://www.dol.gov/agencies/ofccp/contact.

PROGRAMS OR ACTIVITIES RECEIVING FEDERAL FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE

Race, Color, National Origin, Sex
In addition to the protections of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, Title VI of the 
Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color or national 
origin in programs or activities receiving Federal financial assistance. Employment discrimination is 
covered by Title VI if the primary objective of the financial assistance is provision of employment, or 
where employment discrimination causes or may cause discrimination in providing services under such 
programs. Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 prohibits employment discrimination on the 
basis of sex in educational programs or activities which receive Federal financial assistance.

Individuals with Disabilities
Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, prohibits employment discrimination on the 
basis of disability in any program or activity which receives Federal financial assistance. Discrimination is 
prohibited in all aspects of employment against persons with disabilities who, with or without reasonable 
accommodation, can perform the essential functions of the job.

If you believe you have been discriminated against in a program of any institution which receives Federal 
financial assistance, you should immediately contact the Federal agency providing such assistance.
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Know Your Rights:
Workplace Discrimination is Illegal

Who is Protected? 
•  Employees (current and

former), including managers
and temporary employees

• Job applicants

•  Union members and
applicants for membership
in a union

What Organizations are Covered?
•   Most private employers
•  State and local governments

(as employers)

•  Educational institutions
(as employers)

• Unions
• Staffing agencies

What Types of Employment Discrimination 
are Illegal? 
Under the EEOC’s laws, an employer may not discriminate against 
you, regardless of your immigration status, on the bases of:
•  Race
• Color
• Religion
• National origin
•  Sex (including pregnancy

and related conditions,
sexual orientation, or
gender identity)

• Age (40 and older)
• Disability

•  Genetic information
(including employer requests
for, or purchase, use, or
disclosure of genetic tests,
genetic services, or family
medical history)

•  Retaliation for filing a
charge, reasonably
opposing discrimination,
or participating in a
discrimination lawsuit,
investigation, or proceeding.

What Employment Practices can be Challenged 
as Discriminatory?
All aspects of employment, including:
• Discharge, firing, or lay-off
•  Harassment (including

unwelcome verbal or
physical conduct)

• Hiring or promotion
• Assignment
•

•

 Pay (unequal wages or
compensation)
 Failure to provide
reasonable accommodation
for a disability or a sincerely- 
held religious belief,
observance or practice

• Benefits

• Job training
• Classification
• Referral
•  Obtaining or disclosing

genetic information of
employees

•  Requesting or disclosing medical 
information of employees

•  Conduct that might reasonably
discourage someone from
opposing discrimination, filing
a charge, or participating in an 
investigation or proceeding.

What can You Do if You Believe Discrimination 
has Occurred?
Contact the EEOC promptly if you suspect discrimination. Do not 
delay, because there are strict time limits for filing a charge of  
discrimination (180 or 300 days, depending on where you live/
work). You can reach the EEOC in any of the following ways:

Submit    an inquiry through the EEOC’s public portal: 
https://publicportal.eeoc.gov/Portal/Login.aspx 

Call 1–800–669–4000 (toll free) 
1–800–669–6820 (TTY) 
1–844–234–5122 (ASL video phone) 

Visit   an EEOC field office (information at 
www.eeoc.gov/field-office)  

E-Mail info@eeoc.gov

Additional information about the EEOC,  
including information about filing a charge of 
discrimination, is available at www.eeoc.gov.

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) enforces Federal laws that protect you from  
discrimination in employment. If you believe you’ve been discriminated against at work or in applying for 
a job, the EEOC may be able to help.

Equal Employment Opportunity

EMPLOYEE RIGHTS UNDER THE FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT 
THE UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION

What is FMLA leave?: The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) is a federal law that provides eligible employees with job-
protected leave for qualifying family and medical reasons. The U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division (WHD) 
enforces the FMLA for most employees.

Eligible employees can take up to 12 workweeks of FMLA leave in a 12-month period for:
 • The birth, adoption or foster placement of a child with you,
 • Your serious mental or physical health condition that makes you unable to work,
 • To care for your spouse, child or parent with a serious mental or physical health condition, and
 • Certain qualifying reasons related to the foreign deployment of your spouse, child or parent who is a military 
servicemember. 

An eligible employee who is the spouse, child, parent or next of kin of a covered servicemember with a serious injury or 
illness may take up to 26 workweeks of FMLA leave in a single 12-month period to care for the servicemember. 

You have the right to use FMLA leave in one block of time. When it is medically necessary or otherwise permitted, you may 
take FMLA leave intermittently in separate blocks of time, or on a reduced schedule by working less hours each day or 
week. Read Fact Sheet #28M(c) for more information.

FMLA leave is not paid leave, but you may choose, or be required by your employer, to use any employer-provided paid 
leave if your employer’s paid leave policy covers the reason for which you need FMLA leave.

Am I eligible to take FMLA leave?
You are an eligible employee if all of the following apply:
 • You work for a covered employer, 
 • You have worked for your employer at least 12 months, 
 • You have at least 1,250 hours of service for your employer during the 12 months before your leave, and 
 • Your employer has at least 50 employees within 75 miles of your work location.

Airline flight crew employees have different “hours of service” requirements. 
You work for a covered employer if one of the following applies:
• You work for a private employer that had at least 50 employees during at least 20 workweeks in the current or previous 
calendar year,
 • You work for an elementary or public or private secondary school, or
• You work for a public agency, such as a local, state or federal government agency. Most federal employees are covered by 
Title II of the FMLA, administered by the Office of Personnel Management.

How do I request FMLA leave?
Generally, to request FMLA leave you must:
 • Follow your employer’s normal policies for requesting leave, 
 • Give notice at least 30 days before your need for FMLA leave, or 
 • If advance notice is not possible, give notice as soon as possible

You do not have to share a medical diagnosis but must provide enough information to your employer so they can 
determine whether the leave qualifies for FMLA protection. You must also inform your employer if FMLA leave was 
previously taken or approved for the same reason when requesting additional leave. Your employer may request 
certification from a health care provider to verify medical leave and may request certification of a qualifying exigency. 
The FMLA does not affect any federal or state law prohibiting discrimination or supersede any state or local law or collective 
bargaining agreement that provides greater family or medical leave rights. State employees may be subject to certain 
limitations in pursuit of direct lawsuits regarding leave for their own serious health conditions. Most federal and certain 
congressional employees are also covered by the law but are subject to the jurisdiction of the U.S. Office of Personnel 
Management or Congress.

What does my employer need to do?
If you are eligible for FMLA leave, your employer must:
 • Allow you to take job-protected time off work for a qualifying reason,
 • Continue your group health plan coverage while you are on leave on the same basis as if you had not taken leave, and
 • Allow you to return to the same job, or a virtually identical job with the same pay, benefits and other working conditions, 
including shift and location, at the end of your leave.
Your employer cannot interfere with your FMLA rights or threaten or punish you for exercising your rights under the law. 
For example, your employer cannot retaliate against you for requesting FMLA leave or cooperating with a WHD investigation.

After becoming aware that your need for leave is for a reason that may qualify under the FMLA, your employer must 
confirm whether you are eligible or not eligible for FMLA leave. If your employer determines that  you are eligible, your 
employer must notify you in writing:
 • About your FMLA rights and responsibilities, and
 • How much of your requested leave, if any, will be FMLA-protected leave. 

Where can I find more information?
Call 1-866-487-9243 or visit dol.gov/fmla to learn more. If you believe your rights under the FMLA have been violated, you 
may file a complaint with WHD or file a private lawsuit against your employer in court. Scan the QR code to learn about our 
WHD complaint process.

For additional information:  1-866-4-USWAGE (1-866-487-9243) TTY: 1-877-889-5627 www.dol.gov/whd
U.S. Department of Labor • Wage and Hour Division

 
Pregnant Workers Fairness Act (PWFA)

Updated 6/23

WHAT IS PWFA?
The Pregnant Workers Fairness Act (PWFA) is a federal law that, starting June 27, 2023, 
requires covered employers to provide “reasonable accommodations” to a qualified 
worker’s known limitations related to pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions, 
unless the accommodation will cause the employer an “undue hardship.” An undue 
hardship is defined as causing significant difficulty or expense.

“Reasonable accommodations” are changes to the work environment or the way things are 
usually done at work.

WHAT ARE SOME POSSIBLE ACCOMMODATIONS FOR PREGNANT WORKERS?
• Being able to sit or drink water
• Receiving closer parking
• Having flexible hours
• Receiving appropriately sized uniforms and safety apparel
• Receiving additional break time to use the bathroom, eat, and rest
• Taking leave or time off to recover from childbirth

• Being excused from strenuous activities and/or exposure to chemicals not safe for 
pregnancy

WHAT OTHER FEDERAL EMPLOYMENT LAWS MAY APPLY TO PREGNANT WORKERS?
Other laws that apply to workers affected by pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions, 
include:
• Title VII which prohibits employment discrimination based on sex, pregnancy, or other 

protected categories (enforced by the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission 
(EEOC))

• The ADA which prohibits employment discrimination based on disability (enforced by the 
EEOC)

• The Family and Medical Leave Act which provides unpaid leave for certain workers for 
pregnancy and to bond with a new child (enforced by the U.S Department of Labor)

• The PUMP Act which provides nursing mothers a time and private place to pump at work 
(enforced by the U.S. Department of Labor)

Learn more at www.EEOC.gov/Pregnancy-Discrimination

Polygraph Protection

California & Federal Employment Notices

Family Medical Leave Act

Federal Minimum Wage

USERRA

Emergency Notice

Payday Notice

Discrimination and Harassment

Time Off For Voting

Family Care and Medical Leave (CFRA Leave)

California Minimum Wage

Unemployment Insurance Benefits

Workers’ Compensation

Whistleblowers’ Protection

Medical and Exposure Records

Paid Sick Leave/Healthy Families Act

No Smoking

Your Rights and Obligations as a Pregnant Employee

Unemployment Insurance

Notice of Withholding

Sexual Harassment

Transgender Rights In The Workplace


