About California
Paid Family Leave

California’s Paid Family Leave program was created for
those moments that matter. Benefits are available to care
for a seriously ill family member, to bond with a new child,
or to participate in a qualifying military event.

Facts About California
Paid Family Leave

* Provides up to eight weeks of partial-wage-replacement

benefits. Leave doesn’t have to be taken all at once.

* Provides approximately 60 to 70 percent of
your weekly salary.

e Funded through your State Disability Insurance tax
withholding, noted as “CASDI” on paystubs, or a
qualifying voluntary plan paid into in the
past 5 to 18 months.

¢ To bond with a new child, leave can be taken anytime
within the first 12 months of a child entering your family.

¢ Citizenship and immigration status do not
affect eligibility.

What if My Claim Is Denied?

If your claim is denied, you have the right to:

e Know the reason for denial.

¢ Appeal decisions about your eligibility for benefits.
Visit Appeals (edd.ca.gov/en/Disability/Appeals)
for information.

All claim information is confidential except for
purposes allowed by law.
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Paid Family Leave
Be there for the moments that matter.

1-877-238-4373
1-877-379-3819
1-866-692-5595
1-866-692-5596
1-866-627-1567
Punjabi 1-866-627-1568
Tagalog 1-866-627-1569
TTY 1-800-445-1312

English
Spanish
Cantonese
Vietnamese
Armenian

Visit a Paid Family Leave or State Disability
Insurance Office (edd.ca.gov/en/Disability/

Contact_SDI) near you to obtain claim
forms, receive information, or speak to a
representative.

For more information, visit:
edd.ca.gov/PaidFamilyl eave

The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services
are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. Requests for services,

aids, and/or alternate formats need to be made by calling 1-866-490-8879
(voice). TTY users, please call the California Relay Service at 711.
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CALIFORNIA PAID FAMILY LEAVE

Helping
Californians
be present for
the moments
that matter.


http://edd.ca.gov/en/Disability/Contact_SDI
http://edd.ca.gov/en/Disability/Contact_SDI
http://edd.ca.gov/PaidFamilyLeave
http://edd.ca.gov/en/Disability/Appeals

Do | Qualify for
California Paid Family Leave?
To qualify for Paid Family Leave benefits, you must:
e Take time off from work to care for a seriously

ill family member, to bond with a new child or to
participate in a qualifying military event.

¢ Be covered by State Disability Insurance or a
voluntary plan in lieu of State Disability Insurance.

¢ Have earned at least $300 in the past
5 to 18 months.

e Submit your claim no later than 41 days after
you begin your family leave. Do not file before
your first day of leave.

How Are Benefit
Amounts Calculated?

Benefits are 60 to 70 percent of your highest
quarterly earnings 5 to 18 months before your claim
begins.

Estimate your benefits at
Disability Insurance and Paid Family Leave Calculator
(edd.ca.gov/PFL_Calculator).

Does Paid Family Leave
Provide Job Protection?

California Paid Family Leave does not provide job
protection. Job protection may be provided if you
qualify under other laws:

e Federal Family and Medical Leave Act
(dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla).

e California Family Rights Act. Civil Rights
Department (calcivilrights.ca.gov).

Notify your employer of your plan to take leave
and the reason for taking leave according to
your company’s policy.
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How Do | Apply for Benefits?

You can apply for Paid Family Leave benefits using
SDI Online (edd.ca.gov/SDI_Online).

To file by mail, you must complete and submit a
Claim for Paid Family Leave (PFL) Benefits (DE 2501F)
form. Learn more at File a Paid Family Leave Claim by
Mail (edd.ca.gov/en/disability/How_to_File_a_PFL _
Claim_by_Mail).

Caregiving Claims

Provide medical certification for your seriously

ill family member who requires your care. This
certification needs to be from their licensed health
professional. You must also provide information
about the family member you are caring for

and their signature.

Bonding Claims

Provide documents that show your relationship to
your child. This can be a copy of your child’s birth
certificate, adoptive placement agreement, or foster
care placement record.

If you are currently receiving pregnancy-related
Disability Insurance benefits, it is not necessary to
request a Paid Family Leave claim form. The form to
file for bonding will be sent through your SDI Online
account or by mail when your pregnancy-related
disability claim ends.

Military Assist Claims

Military assist claims require two types of supporting
documents. This can be proof of covered active duty
or call to covered active duty and documentation of
the qualifying event.

Voluntary Plans

If you are covered by a voluntary plan, contact your
employer for information about your coverage and
instructions on how to apply for benefits.
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